ImageImage

New SC Wannabe!

This forum brought to you by Molten Boron! PUBLIC ACCESSIBLE FORUM
StarCrusherINC
CLICK HERE TO SEE
MY 3 SHIPS

New SC Wannabe!

Post#1 » Sat Sep 10, 2016 3:41 pm

Hi PXP crew. It has been mentioned to me by a coworker that I should not bother building a PC from scratch but instead look to upgrade my current i7 PC despite the fact it is seven years old. Here is a link to my PC:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6883108569

Does anyone have advise for me on whether or not I should bother trying to upgrade such an old PC? If possible what would I need to purchase to be able to play SC and keep my PC viable for at least another three years?

Also I am happy to be the new guy and thanks for all the advice on mumble already.

Space_Herpe
CLICK HERE TO SEE
MY 45 SHIPS

Re: New SC Wannabe!

Post#2 » Sat Sep 10, 2016 5:34 pm

I'm no expert by any stretch of the word, but I would start from scratch and build a rig that's maybe 1 to 2 years old. These guys know more than I ever needed to know I think.
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4899&hilit=new+rig
My current rig:
Ultra Etorque mid tower gaming case
Asus x99-A motherboard
Intel i7-5820K Liquid cooled (Captain240)
16GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM
1TB SSD
MSI GFORCE GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Corsair RM 1000x power supply
windows 10
And I plan on upgrading video card and adding 16GB more ram ( my Christmas present to myself)
Attachments
20160827_201439_resized.jpg
20160827_115152_resized.jpg

Flexo
Site Admin
CLICK HERE TO SEE
MY 2 SHIPS

Post#3 » Sat Sep 10, 2016 5:59 pm